According to an 18-month study done by the American Lung Association, the costs of turning over a unit where people smoked can range from $5,500 to $12,000, versus $500 to $2,500 for a non-smoking unit.
Tenants tend to pay more for properties with a smoke-free policy.
Smoke-free housing reduces cleaning and maintenance costs inside and outside the housing facilities.
Recent research suggests that smoke-free apartment buildings may have increased re-sale value, should you ever decide to sell your building. 4
The majority of tenants prefer to live in smoke-free housing. 92% of Alaskans do not allow smoking in their homes. 73% of Alaskans who currently smoke prohibit smoking in their homes. 2
Tenants affected by secondhand smoke are protected by the Fair Housing Act and may file a complaint for “reasonable" accommodations
Housing owners may be legally liable for allowing secondhand smoke to harm others
Smokers are not a protected class under the Fair Housing Laws.
There is no constitutional or judicially recognized “right to smoke” in a multi-unit dwelling – whether the dwelling is privately owned or is public housing.
Smoke-free housing policies are legal and allowed under Federal and Alaska law.
Allowing smoking in your building can increase the fire risk.
Smoking materials are a leading cause of home structure fires, fire-related injuries and deaths, and fire-related property damage nationally. 6
This law prohibits smoking in two areas in multiunit housing. It defines smoking as using cigarettes, e-cigarettes, cigars and pipes, and other oral smoking devices that contain tobacco or marijuana. Your property may exceed these standards. For more information about the law, please visit smokefree.alaska.gov.
In common areas of apartment buildings or multi-family dwellings
Outdoors within 20 feet of an entrance, open window, or enclosed air intake vent of a heating or ventilation system
Contact the American Lung Association in Alaska at
SmokefreeHousingAK@Lung.org or 907-931-5470